EAC: Region to issue electronic passports

Published: 13/Sep/2015
Source: The East African

Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda will begin issuing a common electronic passport in November.

The national non-biometric passports will be phased out over a two-year period ending in 2017. But Burundi has until close to the cut-off date to change over, as its current document already conforms to the new international standard for passports.

Read more.

Themes: Cartes d’identité et passeports, Pièces d'identité
Regions: Tanzanie, Kenya, Afrique de l'Est, Ouganda
Year: 2015