Only 6 member states have ECOWAS biometric card – Commission

Published: 11/May/2023
Source: News Agency of Nigeria

By Temitope Ponle

Dr Omar Touray, President of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Commission said only six out of the 15 member states had the ECOWAS National Biometric Identity Card (ENBIC).

Touray said this while presenting his address on the Status of Implementation of the Community Work Programmes at the ongoing First Ordinary Session of the ECOWAS Parliament in Abuja on Wednesday.

The commission’s president named the member states as Senegal, Guinea-Bissau, Ghana, Benin, The Gambia, and Sierra Leone.

He also said through advocacy, other member states were almost set to launch theirs.

He also spoke on innovative measures the community was taking to promote and ensure free movement of persons.

Read further:

Themes: ID Documents and Passports
Regions: West Africa
Year: 2023