CDE Observations finales: Swaziland, 2006

Publié : 16/Oct/2006
Source: Comité des droits de l’enfant

CRC/C/SWZ/CO/1

Droit à une nationalité

32.Tout en relevant que la Constitution traite du droit à l’identité, le Comité s’inquiète du fait que l’enfant n’acquiert pas la nationalité par l’intermédiaire de sa mère, à moins d’être né hors mariage et de ne pas avoir été adopté ou réclamé par son père.

33. Dans le souci de la non-discrimination et de l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant, le Comité recommande à l’État partie de prendre les mesures législatives requises pour faire en sorte qu’un enfant puisse acquérir la nationalité non seulement par filiation paternelle mais aussi par filiation maternelle.

Enregistrement des naissances

34.Le Comité prend note avec satisfaction des divers efforts entrepris par l’État partie pour améliorer l’enregistrement des naissances, mais reste préoccupé par le nombre considérable d’enfants non enregistrés à la naissance (ou ultérieurement).

35. Eu égard à l’article 7 de la Convention, le Comité recommande à l’État partie de renforcer et affiner les mesures visant à garantir l’enregistrement de tous les enfants naissant sur le territoire national, notamment en rendant facile et gratuit l’enregistrement des naissances et en déployant des unités mobiles, en particulier en milieu rural. Le Comité engage en outre l’État partie à faire enregistrer les enfants qui ne l’ont pas encore été.

Télécharger : ici

Thèmes: Acquisition de la nationalité, Acquisition par les enfants, Enregistrement des naissances
Les régions: Swaziland
An: 2006

CRC Concluding Observations: Swaziland, 2006

Published: 16/Oct/2006
Source: UN Committee on the Rights of the Child

CRC/C/SWZ/CO/1

Forty-third session Consideration of Reports Submitted by States Parties Under Article 44 of the Convention Concluding observations: Swaziland

Right to nationality

32.  While noting that the Constitution addresses the right to identity, the Committee is nevertheless concerned that the child does not derive his or her citizenship through the mother unless the child is born outside of marriage and is not adopted or claimed by the father.

33.  As a matter of non-discrimination and in the best interests of the child, the Committee recommends that the State party take the necessary legislative measures to ensure that a child can derive nationality not only from the father, but also from the mother.

Birth registration

34. The Committee notes with appreciation the various efforts undertaken by the State party to improve birth registration but remains concerned at the considerable number of children not registered at birth (or later).

35. In the light of article 7 of the Convention, the Committee recommends that the State party strengthen and further develop measures to ensure that all children born within the national territory are registered by, inter alia, making birth registration easy and free of charge and introducing mobile units, especially in rural areas.  The Committee further urges the State party to proceed with the registration of those children who have thus far not been registered.

Download file: here

Themes: Acquisition of nationality, Acquisition by children, Birth Registration
Regions: Swaziland
Year: 2006